Need help with with darlington pair setup to power 555 timer circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by robnoper, Mar 25, 2019.

1. robnoper

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 5, 2019
    Capture2.PNG

I have the above circuit roughed out and seems to work but have problems with the Q2 transistor blowing.
    the circuit is powered by 12V and a sounder circuit connected to H3.

1.5v is used to turn on the Darlington pair which in turn powers up the timer circuit.
    Pin 3 of U1 gets triggered and then makes alarm sound for set time.

Is the Darlington pair correct or any better way of doing it.
    I can get circuits working but im no electronics engineer but just need a helping hand.

Thanks

2. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    Q2, when switched on, will short circuit the power supply and draw lots of current. That is why Q2 keeps blowing.
    Do you want the '555 to be powered when the 1.5V input is present, or when it is not present?

3. robnoper

Mar 5, 2019
    I want it to be powered on when 1.5v is present

4. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    Try it this way. Q1 switches the gnd connection to the power.
    Capture2.jpg

5. robnoper

Mar 5, 2019
    Ok ..thanks will give that a try tonight

6. robnoper

Mar 5, 2019
    The reason I used a Darlington pair is that with just 1 resistor it didn't give enough power to the sounder board.

7. AnalogKid

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 1, 2013
    LED2 is backwards.

Albert's suggestion will work fine with the information you have given us so far, but you have not given us enough information for a complete solution. We need to know more about what is driving the Trigger input and what to 555 output goes to. The issue here is grounding. Switching the ground to a circuit to turn it on and off could cause problems because while the circuit will not run, its inputs and outputs still are connected, and +12 V is roaming around inside the 555 and could appear in some form on external pins.