need help on circuts

ubeyd

Joined Nov 30, 2014
hi guys
i am a newbie
and i have 2 question which probably very easy for you guys..
so on the first picture i didnt understand why the i1 direction is like that..shouldnt it be the way i draw (with red ) and equation should be i1=i2+i3 or am i missing something ?

and can you guys explain me the second question..why the answer is 1A .i mean it should be 1A if that current source wasnt there..but doesnt it have any effect on the circut ?? can you explain me what does that current source and how should i solve question like these if there is a current source in it 1.png 2.png

dalam

Joined Aug 9, 2014
For fig. 1: You can take current's direction in which ever way you want. Final result will come out negative if you took current in opposite direction. Just make sure that you flow in one direction in a loop( either clockwise or anticlockwise).
For Fig 2: You can analyse this circuit using superposition theorem. It becomes very straight forward.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Figure 2.
The 1 Ohm resistor is in parallel with 1 Volt voltage source. What does it mean? When branches are in parallel, all branches have the same voltage across them. So. There is 1 Volt across 1 Ohm resistor. Why? Because 1 Ohm resistor is in parallel with 1 Volt independent voltage source. Apply Ohm's Law: i=v/(1 Ohm)=1 Volt/(1 Ohm)=1 Ampere.

Figure 1.