Need advice about Quad copter pesticide spray

airwolf137

Joined Dec 9, 2013
Hello,
I am a university student and I want to make a pesticide spray using a quad copter. I want to know which quadcopter can be helpful for doing this project.
Also I want to integrate a GPS module on the quadcopter so that I can give GPS co-ordinates on the laptop, and the quadcopter will follow those co-ordinates , Sort of way points , and following those way points it will spray on the field.
Any help regarding this will be appreciated .
Looking forward to the help
Thanks

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Many countries, including the United States, take a very dim view of FPV without a safety pilot in visual contact at all times. It would seem redundant to use GPS in that circumstance.

On top of that, other agencies, including USDA and EPA regulate pesticide sprays. While violations of the environmental rules and airspace have not been vigorously prosecuted for first offenders to date, recent incidents in NY and NJ may well change that. Most important, any liability insurance coverage you have or think you have, including your parents if you are under 21, will likely be voided by violating the rules.

As a practical matter, how much weight do you need to carry? How many gallons per acre do you intend to spray? You may well find that a few calculations will show the impracticality of using a hobby-size quad copter. If you haven't made that calculation, how do you expect anyone here to guess what your payload capability needs to be?

John

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
Hello,
I am a university student and I want to make a pesticide spray using a quad copter. I want to know which quadcopter can be helpful for doing this project.
Also I want to integrate a GPS module on the quadcopter so that I can give GPS co-ordinates on the laptop, and the quadcopter will follow those co-ordinates , Sort of way points , and following those way points it will spray on the field.