multimeter's voltage measurement

TheSpArK505

Joined Sep 25, 2013
Greetings,

I am working on a troubleshooting simulator and I have no experience regarding multimeters.
First of all, if I'm measuring the voltage for a resistor for example, how does the multimeter reads the measurement? does the multimeter's resistance draw small current and calculate the the voltage across it's resistance(MM internal resistance) ?! is this how it works ?!!

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
Greetings,
I am working on a troubleshooting simulator and I have no experience regarding multimeters.
First of all, if I'm measuring the voltage for a resistor for example, how does the multimeter reads the measurement? does the multimeter's resistance draw small current and calculate the the voltage across it's resistance(MM internal resistance) ?! is this how it works ?!!
yes it is....

mentioned ADC is just key component when MM is digital type.
circuitry of digital MM ensured high internal resistance (so current through MM is really really small).

in analog MM, internal resistance is significantly lower (usually current is driving galvanometer directly, without amplification), therefore current through analog MM is generally significantly larger than through digital MM.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
It goes in one wire, through an internal 10 megohm resistor, and out the other wire. Most digital multimeters have a 10 megohm input impedance. This actually is a string of several resistors in series that add up to 10M or more. As you change the meter range, it connects to the resistor string at different points along the series. The effect is that to an external circuit, the meter input looks like a 10M resistor no matter which range the meter is set to. Internally, the incoming signal is not attenuated, or attenuated by 10, 100, or 1000.

https://www.eleccircuit.com/digital-multimeter-circuit-using-icl7107/

ak

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008