Multimeter reads higher current at LED than at battery terminal

elizjohansen

Joined Sep 12, 2018
Dear forum,

I am trying to characterize the battery requirements for an existing battery-powered lighting product. Specifically, I am trying to figure out how much current the LED uses when at maximum setting, v. the rest of the electronics.

I inserted the multimeter in series at the positive battery terminal and got a result of 1.3 A. Then I inserted the multimeter in series at the red wire exiting the LED and got a result of 1.45A.

I am primarily a mechanical engineer and product designer with a very limited electronics background. Based on my limited understanding the current at the LED should have been less than or equal to the current at the positive battery terminal.

Can anyone suggest what I might be doing wrong?

elizjohansen

Joined Sep 12, 2018
I should also mention, I put the multimeter in voltage measurement mode and measured voltage across the LED. This changed from 1.5 to 3.5 V as I slid the linear potentiometer to change the LED illuminance. However, the LED forward voltage according to its spec sheet is 3.0 - 3.5V. What am I misunderstanding? Is this a measurement error? A good measurement but concept misunderstanding? Or a poorly-designed circuit?

paulktreg

Joined Jun 2, 2008
I don't know your battery voltage but let's say 12VDC so at 1.3A that's 12V x 1.3A=15.6W.

There will be a LED driver circuit that drops the output voltage and as long as the input power available is 15.6W at 3.5V that will be, without losses, 15.6W/3.5V=4.4A. The voltage can be stepped down whilst stepping up the current so your readings are feasible.

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
What you describe does not make any sense.
Can you post a photo of what you are doing?