Mosfets and Resistors

DannyKemp

Joined Jun 23, 2014
Hello everyone, I am still fairly new to electronics but I am getting there. Now my biggest weak point is working out what components to use and why in a circuit. I want to build a simple Mosfet switch circuit using a N-Channel fet, How to work out the suitable resistors for the circuit attached below.

For example why do you need a resistor between the source and gate, and how do you work out the suitable one for this purposes?

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
The resistor is used to discharge the gate capacitance of the MOSFET to turn it off.
The size of the resistor is determined by the gate capacitance of the particular MOSFET you use and how fast you want it to turn off.

Note that the gate-source voltage (Vgs) to fully turn on the MOSFET as a switch is 10V for a typical MOSFET or 3V-5V for a logic-level type.
Do not confuse that voltage value with the Vgs threshold voltage which is much lower.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Think what Dave meant is use a 10kΩ resistor between the MOSFET gate and source pins.
Then use a 1kΩ series resistor between the control signal and the MOSFET gate pin.

DannyKemp

Joined Jun 23, 2014
Well the circuits I've been looking at the gate resistor always seem to be a lot lower rated than the gate-source resistor. And I guess the value is all dependent on the mosfet rating, like I said I am fairly new to all this and one thing ive still got to get my head around is numerical values and reasoning in circuits. Which is why I was wondering if there's a basic calculation to work out the ideal resistor between the gate and source. I have included a link to the datasheet of the mosfet I was looking at if anyone could help explain to me the method for determining the correct resistor I would be very grateful.

Datasheet

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What voltage is the power source? 12V battery?