Monostable Multivibrator 74121

Arne1996

Joined Feb 15, 2017
Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm new on AAC. I'm a student in electronics.
I need to make as final project a high speed flash for a camera. So I thought to take as LED driver the "74121". First I wanted to pick the "555" but this one is too slow... The pulse width needs to be in nanoseconds so I thought this one is perfect. I read if I don't use a capacitor there will be the minimum pulse width (30-35ns), so if I'm using just the minimum R (=1.4k) this can work? (see schematic)
Thanks in advance!

Kind regards

Attachments

hp1729

Joined Nov 23, 2015
Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm new on AAC. I'm a student in electronics.
I need to make as final project a high speed flash for a camera. So I thought to take as LED driver the "74121". First I wanted to pick the "555" but this one is too slow... The pulse width needs to be in nanoseconds so I thought this one is perfect. I read if I don't use a capacitor there will be the minimum pulse width (30-35ns), so if I'm using just the minimum R (=1.4k) this can work? (see schematic)
Thanks in advance!

Kind regards
Looks good. Enables are correct.

Arne1996

Joined Feb 15, 2017
Most white LEDs take longer than that to wake up. Why so short?

ak
It will be used in an industrial process to take pictures of paper and to calculate the amount of dust in a paper factory. But I just need to make the flash for the camera ;) I need 800 images/sec so my flash needs to be lower then 1µs.
I will not use usual white LED's because indeed, they are too slow and they are also not powerfull enough to light up the paper. I thought to use on the output a powerMOSFET or IGBT to switch on/off the LED's because the LED's I will use demands a lot of current.

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
The 74121 without the capacitor still has a capacitor, it's the parasitic capacitance of the circuit and wiring.