Mini Keyboard

Ario99

Joined Sep 29, 2020
I've decided I wanted to make a pocket sized keyboard as a starter project for getting into electronics. I do have some experience already with electronics from highschool courses but I'm getting back into it now. I'm kind of new to this scene so I suspect I'm not looking in the right places because I can't seem to find any keyboard electronic parts or 'modules' that could be implemented into the project. I'm considering using the design of dumb phone keyboards like the ones below.
1601401054452.png1601401043338.png

So I'm asking if you have any tips or maybe an online electronics store that I should look at? Thanks ahead of time for any responses.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Most keyboards do not really have "parts" except for the keys. The switching portions are patterns on the circuit board. A simple DC power supply followed by a simple audio amplifier, is a much better way to get started.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Now I am suspecting that what the TS is really describing is a keyboard musical device, not a keypad. Suddenly it makes a lot more sense if that is the case. Just a small case of not providing enough details with the request.
And so if the goal is a musical keyboard then the question becomes how many keys and how accurate the tones? The super-accurate keyboard instruments used a top octave generator and then binary dividers for all of the lower tones. The challenge with those was always filtering the square waves.
So possibly we will now learn that the TS was actually wanting a keyboard instrument. BUT of course that is just a guess.

BobaMosfet

Joined Jul 1, 2009