master's thesis

Cristopher

Joined Mar 4, 2015
Hello guys!

I am doing a master thesis right now. This thesis is all about measuring soil density and soil moisture content. The results will be displayed on an LCD. the block diagram is as follows:

Moisture Sensor to Controller to LCD

• The output of the sensor is fed to the current-to-frequency converter. This frequency drives a series of comparator circuits having 3 outputs.
  • The comparator outputs are then connected to the input of microcontroller as a digital signal
  • The display of the LCD should include the soil density (g/cc) and the soil moisture content (%)
Questions:
1. How am I going to convert the digital signal from the comparator circuits into accurate measurement.
2. Do I have options other than using MicroController.

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
a comparator for a frequency? wouldnt that be a job for digital program? a counter comparing with stored numbers. why not just pass a little dc through the soil and compare the results with analog comparator then DAC then display?

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
1. How am I going to convert the digital signal from the comparator circuits into accurate measurement.
Presuming you are passing current through the moist soil, your results would hardly be considered accurate to begin with. There are many variables to content with, e.g. free ions, solubility of those ions, mobility, etc. How are you planning to contend with these? At best, your measurements would be able to definitively say that the conductivity of the soil has changed, and at worst, that the soil is possibly wet.

If this is not your approach, do elaborate to help us understand your approach.
2. Do I have options other than using MicroController.
Always.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The output of the sensor is fed to the current-to-frequency converter. This frequency drives a series of comparator circuits having 3 outputs.