Looking for a simple way to make any LED flicker

inkandclaw

Joined Oct 15, 2018
Quite awhile back I was looking for a way to make LEDs flicker without having to use an Arduino or program a chip. I am not good with circuit design outside "calculate the resistor needed to make an LED work". Using a flicker LED in series might work if I was using 12v, but won't work well with 3v and 4.5v battery combinations, I came across this thread with (what looked like) a simple circuit showing how to use a 2N2222 transistor and an LED taken out of a tea light / candle to drive a 1W star.

http://brassgoggles.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,36566.0.html

I wanted to make a basic green 5mm LED flicker, not a star. I bought the transistors and LEDs, thinking I could figure out how to modify it, but the rest of the project I was working on wasn't repairable and I never built the circuit. I'm trying to fix some old Halloween lighting now, and I wanted to do the same thing, except make 3mm warm white LEDs flicker instead of green. Unfortunately when I pulled up the bookmark I had saved, the photobucket with the circuit design had been deleted!

I found a second tutorial here, but I do not know the reason for the resistor values chosen. They don't match what 3 red LEDs in series would need whether they were 5mm or 1W stars. I don't understand how the transistor changes the calculation for the resistors needed or how to modify it for other types of LEDs, or understand the reasoning for having the 45 ohm resistor in front of the transistor circuit with a 10 ohm on the collector.

http://spookyblue.com/spookyblog/build-a-flickering-led-candle-amplifier