LM2097 Tacho - testing with Arduino

spegru

Joined Dec 13, 2016
Hi I'm new to these forums. I'm no electronics expert but I do understand technology to a good level

I want to use an LM2907 as the first stage in a larger circuit.
So I've used the circuit here on a breadboard
https://i0.wp.com/microcontrollerslab.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Configuration-for-LM2907.jpg

I want to bench test this, so I've rigged an Arduino microcontroller with the code found here https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/BlinkWithoutDelay
to generate pulses

The pulse generator side of this works fine - I can see them on an oscilloscope, but I get nothing on the Voltage output on the LM2907 circuit.

I've had 3 goes at putting this together now with two separate LM2907 chips (in case I'd blown one), but with the same result.

Actually the voltage output is not quite zero. My Digital multimeter reads about 3mV, but that figure is constant no matter what frequency the input is set to.

The only problems I can foresee as the possible reason for this are that the impedance of the input is wrong or that the 5v output voltage is not high enough from the arduino.

Could that be the case and what could be done about it?

Any help very much appreciated!

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
The circuit shown uses a magnetic transducer, not a TTL input - how have you connected the input signal?

The chip expects the input to go below ground, your input signal is not triggering the chip.

Depending on which variant of the part you are using, you could get it working by:

1) capacitively coupling the signal to the input

2) biasing the negative comparator input above ground with a resistor divider

read the data sheet!

spegru

Joined Dec 13, 2016
Thanks for that reply Sensacell. As I mentioned I'm no electronics expert so the data sheet isn't much help to me - I need advice (please).