Detect for tacho

Robbo6

Joined Jan 6, 2016
PlugLeadDetect.png
Hullo. My very first post. I am an amateur, so any simple advice would be appreciated.
I have built an analog tachometer using an Arduino Nano and an automotive stepper motor. It all works nicely when bench testing. However, put the signal generator (Hall effect or photoreflector etc) near an old motorcycle magneto, and the connecting leads pick up interference from the spark plug lead. Magnetos are of a completely difference construction to a normal coil ignition system. Designed over a 100 years ago, the primary, secondary coils, capacitor and points all rotate, while the magnet is stationary - completely the wrong way around! There is no access or tapping into any of the system. So next idea is picking up the signal from the spark plug lead itself. Above is my initial idea for feeding a Voltage into the Arduino. I don't have an osilloscope, but can use one at work. I have to bring in a battery, a magneto and electric motor to drive the magneto (needs a hefty 12V motor to spin a magneto), so would like thoughts on if the above is worth a trial. Thank you. Rob Steward

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013
What do you want to measure refs per minute? or do you want to use it to adjust ignition timing.
This question is due to accuracy of system.
using the sparkplug lead will work however; cable leak big pulses as result.
I used a copper wire and used cable isolation it as a 'capacitor' with 1 MOhm and 10K to gnd in series.
but use a fast diode to clamp to 5V. a zener is to slow and spikes will eat your cpu.

Robbo6

Joined Jan 6, 2016
Thanks for your reply.
I'm just measuring revs per minute.
The Aduino measures time takes for 5 pulses, calculates needle position, and moves the stepper motor to the new position.
Thanks for the suggestion of a fast diode to clamp to 5V instead of a Zener - I don't want to cook my Arduino.
Cheers, Rob.

sailorjoe

Joined Jun 4, 2013