Level sensor simulate

Thread Starter

Camiloo

Joined Aug 21, 2021
8
Hello.

I need to simulate a level sensor using a potentiometer that delivers 10 mV for every 2.5 meters of height, it is a filling tank and has a capacity of up to 10 meters in height.

How could I do this? This is in proteus. Thanks ^^

1629559440275.png
 

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
34,452
So the maximum sensor output is just 40mV?

So connect a voltage source of 40mV to SN-1 in your picture.
That will give 0 to 40mV at the AD0 output for the potentiometer going from 0% to 100%.
 

Thread Starter

Camiloo

Joined Aug 21, 2021
8
So the maximum sensor output is just 40mV?

So connect a voltage source of 40mV to SN-1 in your picture.
That will give 0 to 40mV at the AD0 output for the potentiometer going from 0% to 100%.
Okay, I already did. I am using an ATMega328P, how do I make the relationship in the programming so that 2.5 meters correspond to 10mV? I tried to make the relationship but I get 10mV / 2m
 

Thread Starter

Camiloo

Joined Aug 21, 2021
8
hi Cam,
Post your Arduino sketch.

E
Hey, I tried with this.

Code:
#define SN1 A0
#define SN2 A1

float vRef = 0;
int nivelSN1;
int voltajeSN1;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  vRef = voltaje_Ref();
  nivelSN1 = analogRead(SN1);
  voltajeSN1 = Escalizar(nivelSN1, 0, 8, 0, 40);
  nivelSN1 = Escalizar(voltajeSN1, 0, 40, 0, 10);
  Serial.print(voltajeSN1); Serial.println(nivelSN1);
  delay(500);
}

float Escalizar(float variable, float in_min, float in_max, float out_min, float out_max)
{
    return (variable - in_min) * (out_max - out_min) / (in_max - in_min) + out_min;
}
And proteus...

1629566174762.png


This is a point of a project, so I need this for doing the rest of conditions.. :(
 

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
18,849
hi C,
If you are using the internal 5V ref for the ADC, which give 1023 counts for 5V input, but for 0.04V
input to the ADC that will only be 1023(0.04/5) = 8 Counts, much to coarse to resolve to 2.5mtr.

E
You should add a OPA amplifier from the pot to the ADC input.
 

Thread Starter

Camiloo

Joined Aug 21, 2021
8
hi C,
If you are using the internal 5V ref for the ADC, which give 1023 counts for 5V input, but for 0.04V
input to the ADC that will only be 1023(0.04/5) = 8 Counts, much to coarse to resolve to 2.5mtr.

E
You should add a OPA amplifier from the pot to the ADC input.
Okay, I will try adding a amplifier, but, should I use 5V or 40mV input to the potentiometer?
 

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
18,849
hi,
I would use the internal 5Vref and supply the pot with 5V.
[the same 5V as the Arduino]
In the sketch use the MAP command.

E

example.
Change the 255 to 100, then some maths to make it 10.0 mtrs
1629567415510.png
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

Camiloo

Joined Aug 21, 2021
8
hi,
I would use the internal 5Vref and supply the pot with 5V.
[the same 5V as the Arduino]
In the sketch use the MAP command.

E

example.
Change the 255 to 100, then some maths to make it 10.0 mtrs
View attachment 246194
Thanks for the help, I did it this way, will it be okay? I don't use the map command because I need the 2.5 meters in the output, if I use map it throws me as an integer type and I only get a 2.

1629568592367.png

Code:
#define SN1 A0
#define SN2 A1

float vRef = 0;
float nivelSN1;
float voltajeSN1;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  vRef = voltaje_Ref();
  nivelSN1 = analogRead(SN1);
  voltajeSN1 = Escalizar(nivelSN1, 0, 1023, 0, (vRef*8));
  nivelSN1 = Escalizar(voltajeSN1, 0, (vRef*8), 0, 10);

  Serial.print("V: "); Serial.print(voltajeSN1); Serial.println(" mV");
  Serial.print("Distance: "); Serial.print(nivelSN1); Serial.println(" meters");
  delay(500);
}

float Escalizar(float variable, float in_min, float in_max, float out_min, float out_max)
{
    return (variable - in_min) * (out_max - out_min) / (in_max - in_min) + out_min;
}

float voltaje_Ref()
{
  long result;
  float respuesta;
  ADMUX = _BV(REFS0) | _BV(MUX3) | _BV(MUX2) | _BV(MUX1);
  delay(2);
  ADCSRA |= _BV(ADSC);
  while (bit_is_set(ADCSRA, ADSC));
  result = ADCL;
  result |= ADCH << 8;
  result = (1125300L / result);
  respuesta = result / 1000.0;
  return respuesta;
}
 

Attachments

Last edited:

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
18,849
hi C,
The result you have posted looks OK.
Are you able to read from 0m thru 10.0mtrs in the 2.5mtr steps OK.
E

BTW:
For future reference you could MAP the 1023 count to 1000 and use maths to give 0.0m the 10.0mtr
 

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
18,849
hi Camiloo.
For reference,this sketch is the way I was suggesting, simpler than your coding.

E

C-like:
// Water Height Camiloo 21-08-2021

const int analogInPin = A0;  
int ADC0in = 0;
float Water= 0;  

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  ADC0in = analogRead(analogInPin);// read the 10k pot voltage

  Water = map(ADC0in, 0, 1023, 0, 100); // Map 1023 to 100 units
  Water= ((Water/10)); // divide by 10 for decimal

  Serial.print("Water= ");
  Serial.print(Water,1); //print to One decimal place
  Serial.println("mtr");
   delay(1000);
}
 

Attachments

Top