LED Strip Series vs Parallel for Brightness

Carty

Joined Dec 12, 2018
Hello,

Let me begin by saying that I'm not an engineer but DIY electronics enthusiast.

I'm building a custom LED light for my aquarium using the strips.

Length of the aquarium is 1m so I'm going to cut the 5m strip into 5 x 1m and connect them in series/parallel.

My question now is, can I connect the 5 x 1m strips in parallel for increased brightness?

The 5m strip has 300 LEDs and is supposed to draw 1.2A per 5m (12volts). Can I use the same or should I use a power supply with higher amps?

The ultimate goal is to have the best brightness as possible. What do you suggest?

Thank you very much for your help.

PS: I used the search function within the forum as well as Google but couldn't find any answers related to brightness and parallel/series.

Regards,
Carty..

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi Carty,
Welcome to AAC.
If the current thru the LED is the same value, the brightness will be the same parallel or serial.
E

Carty

Joined Dec 12, 2018
I tried using 2A, 5A and 8A transformer but got the same brightness. Is it because the strip or circuit is designed to allow only required/limited current?

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi C,
The controller in the LED driver will determine the current thru the LED's, it will only draw the current from the 'transformer' as set by the controller.
E

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
As long as the power supply voltage is correct, it does not matter if the power supply has a higher current capability. The LEDs will draw the same current. Think of a 12V plug pack that can supply 1.5 Amps (like a lot of external hard drive supplies). Your LED strip will draw the 1.2Amps with the supply not running at full current capacity. But you can only run one strip.
Now, put the LED strip on a 12V car battery. It will still draw the 1.2Amps but for a car battery, that is a very small load. The battery could easily run a dozen LED strips.