LED Sequencer

JoshS

Joined Dec 14, 2014
So I'm starting a new project, trying to light up 3 LEDs with one push button kind of like a sequencer. However, I don't want the previous LEDs to shut off, but instead, just have the next one turn on with the push of a button. I was thinking this would be better done with a microprocessor instead of a controller, but I'm still new to this side of the tech world. Any suggestions as to what I should do?

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Is it " one button" or " a button"? Sounds like a short bar graph. Anything special about the LED's? Could be simple, SW debouncer ( 555), parallel out shift register, LED driver. or a 4017 or 4022, OR gate's , LED driver. OR more information.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Well, it can be done with a microcontroller, even fairly easily if you are familiar with them and aren't afraid of coding. But what do you mean by "a controller"?

It can be done with discreet components as well. A 4017 is a decade counter, and can sequence the LEDs, just not as you describe. But to get previous LEDs to remain lit, each subsequent position lights its predecessors through an OR gate. And it doesn't have to be a separate chip. You can create the OR gates with diodes. A picture might help. This is a quick example with only three LEDs. O1, O2 and O3 are outputs from the decade counter.

seq_II.png

JoshS

Joined Dec 14, 2014
@djsfantasi I meant a microcontroller, just lazy me left out the micro-. I'm not too familiar with OR gates, but your picture helps a lot! This small "project" I wish to multiply by 14, hopefully powering them all by one source. Any suggestions on how I would come of that?

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
I see two problems with your picture.

First, what is the other end of the LED connected to?

Second, I am not sure what he second resistor at each LED is for and why you've apparently bypassed the LED with a wire/connection.

JoshS

Joined Dec 14, 2014