LED auxiliary lights with narrow focus for vehicles

Hussain Shabbir

Joined Mar 5, 2018
We all face the problem of insufficient light from the stock headlamp. We then opt for aftermarket solutions such as LED bulbs or HID kits. But we are not the kind of people that would just buy stuff, we would rather make it ourselves. I saw some LED work lights but they were very expensive and the cheaper ones had false claims of high lumen output.

I am very new to all of this electronic world and I am still learning and exploring.

Now I want to make 2 LED lights for my motorcycle to illuminate the path with sharp and powerful lights.

First I decided to use 300 5mm chinese LED diodes that use 20mA and 3.2V to produce 8000mcd and a beam angle of 30 degree (a product listed on AliExpress). The total watts consumed would be 25watts and 2400lumens would be produced.
But this project would need alot of soldering and connections.

When I decided to use 3watts LED chips instead, I could not find lens to focus the light at a near 30 degree. The chips themselves were a 120 degree beam angle. It would just spread light all over and not on the road, it would also create glare for other drivers and riders.

Now I want your valuable knowledge and experience to reach to an efficient and effective solution. I am very open to ideas in which if anyone of you wanted to make a LED light how would have you done it?

My bike has a 12v battery and it has ample power supply. Please help and guide this new member. Any help will be highly appreciated.

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
I think that 30 degrees is probably too wide an angle. Even 18 degrees may be too much. If I were doing it I would, first, measure the angle of our present headlight and try to duplicate that.

Try to find a single, much higher, brightness LED. Choose one that is on a star board and has a focusing reflector/lens available for it.
Here is a reflector/lens intended for use with a star board made by LED Engin Inc.: