Lead Acid Battery - Battery Capacity Sensor for Microcontroller Input

Euclidjay

Joined Oct 11, 2013
Good Day. I'm a graduating student and need a help regarding with my thesis, my final project, in college. Here's one of my problem in my project.

My project is using a Lead Acid Battery and Microcontroller (Arduino) what I want to do is when the Lead Acid Battery is going to be empty or about 10% of its battery capacity I need that to be an input in my Arduino. I've research sensors or circuits that can be input battery capacity in my arduino but can't find anything. Anyone there can help me? Please reply.

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
There is no single sensor that will provide this information. The true remaining battery capacity depends on many variables such as; initial charge, voltage, number of previous charge/ discharge cycles, age of the battery, temperature, rate of self-discharge, load etc. The best you can do is devise an algorithm which takes all these into account and estimates the remaining capacity. The manufacturer should be able to provide discharge curves which may be useful but these will be for a new fully-charged battery at a particular temperature and at a constant current.

Euclidjay

Joined Oct 11, 2013
Thanks for your reply. Your reply make me sad because upon reading it, it just show how difficult to solve my problem but before I just want to share an idea. A while ago I've seen a 12V Lead Acid Battery Low Voltage Indicator

here's the link http://www.electroschematics.com/tag/battery-indicator/

the concept of the indicator is