L-R circuit and time constants.

Brandons95

Joined Dec 16, 2015
Okay so Im quite new to this. I've been given this question as part of my HNC electrical engineering course. I'm really stuck and all I know is that for part a I need to start by dividing 160 by 5. Help would be much appreciated.
Circuit3_2.jpg
Mod edit: reduced image file size

Last edited by a moderator:

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,

You can usually use a value of 5 time constants for approximate calculations. So it takes 5 time constants to reach roughly the max value.
Write the equation for this and figure out the resistance. Then halve it and see how long it takes to get to the maximum value with the new resistor value in the time domain equation. You could also think about the new max current value when the new value resistor is used.

Brandons95

Joined Dec 16, 2015
Okay so the equation I've been working with is t = L/R but I'm told I need to re arrange it. Is there any chance someone could give me an example? I missed the lesson on this and all my tutor is pretty much saying is I need to re arrange the equation. Also dividing 160 by 5 what does that give me like I know it's 32 but what units.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Okay so the equation I've been working with is t = L/R but I'm told I need to re arrange it. Is there any chance someone could give me an example? I missed the lesson on this and all my tutor is pretty much saying is I need to re arrange the equation. Also dividing 160 by 5 what does that give me like I know it's 32 but what units.
Well, if you track your units they will tell you what units.

The 160 has units of milliseconds.
The 5 is just a number (it is how many time constants is generally considered sufficient to reach the final value for most practical purposes).

So you have (160 ms)/(5). What are the units of the result?

Brandons95

Joined Dec 16, 2015