Kinder to the Regulator?

ElectricSpidey

Joined Dec 2, 2017
Hello, I’m new to this forum so please excuse me if I screw up some valued protocol or something.

A little about myself…

I’m 61 years old, self-employed, and have been enslaving electrons to do my bidding since I was a teenager, have some formal training in electronics, but mostly self-taught doing hobby work.

Anyway, my question is which method would be better for a LM317 regulator.

What I have is 10 white LEDs being driven by a LM317 thru dropping resistors, which limit the current to approx. 100ma each @ 10 volts. (12 volts minus the dropout and emitter-collector drop of the drivers) More or less…

These LEDs are set to a dim level most of the time by R2 (regulator)

What I want to do is flash these LEDs to a brighter level every so often at something like 3 Hz give or take, so the two methods I can use are. (I’m sure there are more)

1. Bypass the regulator with the higher voltage. (directly to the output IE: the anodes of the LEDs)

2. Tie the 555 output directly to the adjust pin using a diode. (not an issue if the LEDs don’t receive full voltage)
Concerns are abusing the regulator with either one of these methods, I have built many linear power supplies during my years, but never used one quite like this.

I know bypassing the regulator is probably not an issue, but would require using a transistor with at least one amp current rating…not a big concern, but the other method is simpler.

Thoughts?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
First thing to consider is that descriptions referring to something like "R2" are meaningless to anyone unless you show us the schematic that has R2 in it.

Post your schematic and also a bit more detail about what you are trying to achieve. Perhaps the most important piece of additional information is how much current you want to put through the LEDs when they are being driven to a higher output.