Is this a first-order BPF?

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
I'm studying for class and noticed something I'm not sure about. A simple series BP filter with a capacitor, an inductor, and a resistor. Is that a first-order or a second order filter, because from what I've read it has to do with the number of reactive components, which means it's a second-order filter, but when I simulated the circuit it had the roll-off of a first-order filter.

Whats the deal?

Thanks.

LvW

Joined Jun 13, 2013
The order of a filter is determind by the order of the denominator of the transfer function.
Nevertheless, each 2nd-order bandpass has a first-order roll-off of 20dB/dec only.

bogosort

Joined Sep 24, 2011
Then how come it's roll-off is that of a first-order? That being 20db/decade.
Here's the intuition: we can think of a 2nd-order BPF as a 1st-order LPF followed by a 1st-order HPF in series. Each 1st-order filter has a 20 dB/decade roll-off, but since they act "in different directions" -- the LPF attenuates the low frequencies, while the HPF attenuates the high frequencies -- we don't get the expected 40 dB / decade roll-off of a 2nd-order filter.

CIVEDM

Joined Jan 28, 2014
Here's the intuition: we can think of a 2nd-order BPF as a 1st-order LPF followed by a 1st-order HPF in series. Each 1st-order filter has a 20 dB/decade roll-off, but since they act "in different directions" -- the LPF attenuates the low frequencies, while the HPF attenuates the high frequencies -- we don't get the expected 40 dB / decade roll-off of a 2nd-order filter.
Ahhh. I was close to guessing the reason. I thought the 20db per side was the 40db roll-off. Thanks for the explanation.

LvW

Joined Jun 13, 2013
Ahhh. I was close to guessing the reason. I thought the 20db per side was the 40db roll-off. Thanks for the explanation.
Here is another -simple - explanation: