Is 6months enough time to learn programming?

koyex1

Joined May 1, 2015
I am new to programming and will really love to be very good at it this very minute. But from the look of things 6months is not enough to be an expert at it. Well a lecturer of mine told me to download mikroc pro for pic and mplab for microcontrollers and told me to read the users guide knowing fully well I am an amateur at programming. And I really what to learn programming so bad. Well since both of these compilers are restricted to only microcontrollers are they good mediums to learn programming?

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Do yoo want to learn programming or be expert I six months? The first is possible; the second is unlikely. Programming is actually many disciplines. You can start I learn with simple programs. Then, as you pick up more styles and algorithms, you can code more advanced programs. What systems do you want to learn? What languages? Start small

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
To be good at programming, particularly to be anything resembling an "expert", involves a lot more than just knowing the syntax of a programming language or even knowing how to use all of the various library functions available. You have to be good at problem solving and that is an art that is largely orthogonal to programming (the same is true for most other fields, such as electronics).

To learn (or improve) your problem solving, spend a lot of time solving problems. Start with small ones and keep moving up working on problems that push your comfort zone really hard.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Of course you need to qualify the term expert, often a discipline is defined by a certain test of ability.
There are many levels of ability, and the expert level would have to be defined, somehow.
Max.

NorthGuy

Joined Jun 28, 2014