Inrush current - should it be dealt with?

jgrv

Joined Mar 2, 2018
Hi,

I'm pretty new to electronics, and I hope to get some help and advise from you guys :)

I’m in the design process of the supply section of a PCB. It will have a 12VDC supply and will be powered by either a 12V solar battery, or from a 12V wall adapter. Here is the circuit:

First is a P channel MOSFET, for protection, that turns off if the connections (+/-) are reversed. After that I have a 2200uF capacitor (will be electrolytic).
I have a question regarding inrush current caused by the capacitor. I did a simulation of the circuit and saw current go all the way up to 1500A!

The current stabilizes after approximately 75 microseconds. This simulations contains almost no resistance to the capacitor, so in real life, the current would probably not go this high. This circuit will normally draw very small currents (<50mA), but could draw up to 3A at most. But anyway; could this inrush current cause the diode, MOSFET and/or power supply to break? If so, is there a good way to suppress this current without reducing the efficiency of the circuit in steady state? Or does it last too short to be able to affect any components at all?

Attachments

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
Your real world supplies cannot source that current so it will be limited already by the internal resistance. There will not be any real problems.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Why do you have a diode in parallel with the MOSFET? :confused:
It's redundant.
The MOSFET carries the current at a very low voltage drop, so the diode does nothing.

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
Diodes like the 1N400x series usually have a current rating for a single (some times two) half cycle at 50 or 60 Hz. This rating is included specifically to address inrush current in typical applications with capacitive filtering. The Vishay data sheet actually has two numbers - one for a half cycle at 60 Hz (30 A) and one for a 1 ms rectangular pulse (40 A).