Increasing AMPERAGE of a DC Circuit

Soomro

Joined Nov 20, 2012
I am a hobbyist and been working on a solar panel project recently; I've got a panel which produces 10v at 400 mA at bright sunny day whereas in dim light, it’s around 160 mA. I am trying to increase amperes up to 2 Amps for charging batteries for a remote car. I tried making a boost converter using NE555, I was able to increase voltage up to 70 volts however amps remained same or lower in most cases (without load).

I want to keep this handy without purchasing another panel; is there anything else that I can do to increase amps of my circuit. I will store this energy in 1200 mAH battery if battery level goes lower than specific level.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
You can't get power from nowhere, and the panel can only provide so much. Power (Watts) = Volts times Amps. The higher the current the lower the volts. A DC-DC converter may enable you to trade current for volts. What voltage is the battery?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The power generated is fixed for a given solar output (if we ignore MPPT for the moment).

If you want to increase current you will decrease voltage. Your solution is to get a bigger solar panel.

Soomro

Joined Nov 20, 2012
Guys, thanks for speedy answers. I can add more panels however I am doing this research to have grip over my electronic understandings; I got a 4.6v battery at 1200 mA and I want to charge it with this panel and then utilize it with RC toy car but as it's 1200 mA, I don't think connecting panel directly using a diode will charge it. Right? And adding more panels would make it odd, where would I fix a big panel in a toy car?

I was thinking if some form of circuits exist where I can get voltage from panel and store it in big capacitors and then release it slow and steady with higher amperage. @MrChips, how can I decrease voltage and increase amperage, do I have to use voltage divider for that or use 7805 regulator? And how much can I get through it.

Soomro