In an emitter follower, the npn can only source current

memphis242

Joined Oct 8, 2019
Thank you for this post! I had literally come across the exact same point in the textbook just an hour ago and have been racking my brain hard on this until I came across this post. :D

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hello,

I am new to electronics, trying to self-study, I amworking through the Arts of Electronics textbook. On page 67 it says:

"In an emitter follower the npn resistor can only "source" current".

What does "to source current" mean?

Here is the circuit the textbook refers to:

Also, it says that this circuit cannot go more negative than -5V output (-4.4V input), and that further negative swing at the input results in reverse biasing the base-emitter junction. How come? Why? It seems to me that there is no problem with a, say -6V input. There is still plenty of leeway to keep the base-emitter junction forward-biased...

Thank you.
I guess this thread is a little older but i could not help comment on a few things.

First, is that the actual quote from the book:

because if it is, there are a couple things wrong with that which are probably typos. I'll explain...

First, a 'resistor' can not source anything. That word must have been meant to be "transistor".
Second, an NPN transistor can act as a source for both current and voltage not just current alone, even in a voltage follower connection scheme as is being referred to there.

Taken these two together,the more appropriate wording should have been:
"In an emitter follower the NPN transistor can only 'amplify' current, it can not amplify voltage."