In an emitter follower, the npn can only source current

crazyjunky

Joined Oct 16, 2014
Hello,

I am new to electronics, trying to self-study, I amworking through the Arts of Electronics textbook. On page 67 it says:

"In an emitter follower the npn resistor can only "source" current".

What does "to source current" mean?

Here is the circuit the textbook refers to:

Also, it says that this circuit cannot go more negative than -5V output (-4.4V input), and that further negative swing at the input results in reverse biasing the base-emitter junction. How come? Why? It seems to me that there is no problem with a, say -6V input. There is still plenty of leeway to keep the base-emitter junction forward-biased...

Thank you.

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
-6V at the base will not have BE junction forward biased...
suppose transistor is off. then Re and Rload form voltage divider so Ve=-5V.
to get BE forward biased, you need Vb to be greater than Ve by 0.6V.
-5V + 0.6V = -4.4V

Last edited:

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
Look at the emitter resistor and the load resistor. With the transistor removed from the circuit,what would the voltage be at the node of the two resistors.

crazyjunky

Joined Oct 16, 2014
Look at the emitter resistor and the load resistor. With the transistor removed from the circuit,what would the voltage be at the node of the two resistors.
As panic-mode explained, with the transistor off we would have a simple voltage divider and the voltage at the emitter would be -5V. We would therefore need -5V + 0.6V = -4.4V at the base to get the base-emitter junction forward biased. However I fail to see how this implies that the output voltage cannot go lower than -5V ??

Thank you.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
MikeML thanks for your schematic but I am not sure I get it :(o_O