Op Amp to Push Pull Emitter Follower

Xerxsea

Joined Feb 23, 2022
Hey so I have been trying to learn about amplifiers and I've been trying to design one with an op amp IC that I have from a component kit I have. I think i designed the op amp right, taking a 12v vcc and a 0.05v peak input it has a peak output voltage of 5v (10v PtP) however i tried to build a push pull output stage for it and my voltage gain dropped to around half of what it formerly was and I am not sure why. Perhaps somebody much more knowledgeable can help me understand and point out any errors in my design. It seems to me it is an issue with connecting the two stages, i tried to move the feedback loop to be from the output back into the opamp as I had seen done online but I couldn't get that to work properly.

I am also unsure of what exactly the purpose of C5 is as it doesn't seem to change anything if I don't have it, but I saw it as part of many other schematics.

Note: I'm a hobbyist just trying to learn this in my free time I don't have any formal education on the matter

Thanks in advance for any help!

Specs:
Vcc: 12v
small signal input: 0.05v
unconnected opamp output: 5v Peak
Power Stage output 2.8v Peak

1708648179333.png
1708648259412.png

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
i tried to build a push pull output stage for it and my voltage gain dropped to around half of what it formerly was
The op amp output current is being limited at the peak.
See the op amp current below (top traces).
I increased the values of R5 and R6, which increased the clipping point

I also changed diodes D1 and D2 to standard silicon junction diodes to reduce the noticeable crossover distortion.
i tried to move the feedback loop to be from the output back into the opamp as I had seen done online but I couldn't get that to work properly.
See below.
I removed the C3 coupling capacitor, so there can be DC feedback from output to input to stabilize the output DC operating point.