I'd like to make a ground indicating LED for my circuit board.

rebelrider.mike

Joined Feb 2, 2024
Hi all,

I've got some big gaps in my knowledge of electronics, and I'm hoping you can help me. I'm designing a circuit that uses 120VAC as the input. I'd like to add an LED that lights up if there is a connection to earth. Like one of those little receptacle testers.

The only way I would know how is to put the LED between the line and the ground with a voltage dropper so as not to fry the LED. But that would mean sending current to ground deliberately, and I'd like to avoid that.

Normally I'd just buy a premade gadget that would do the thing for me, but in this case, I don't even know what to search for. I keep getting results for ground fault indicators. What I want is more like a ground happy indicator.

Is there a way to power the LED only when there is a ground connection without sending any current to ground?

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Most LEDs will not like the reverse voltage they would encounter when used like this though you could add a diode in inverse parallel.
Perhaps a better solution would be a small neon bulb with series resistor.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
A cheaper and more tolerant way to verify that a ground is present is to use a neon bulb pilot light. It will use a lot less power than an LED. If you are willing to become a whole lot more elaborate, you can use a voltage detector circuit to check for any voltage between the incoming power neutral and the "green wire" safety ground connection.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
As mentioned, a Neon lamp with suitable series resistor to mimic the live conductor detector screwdriver.
They just need conduction through ones body to ground.

1706985121308.png

rebelrider.mike

Joined Feb 2, 2024