How would I make this wheel and number pad (video and pic included)

TogetherInElectricDreams

Joined Jan 23, 2019
Hello everyone,
Some months ago I asked about a toy microwave panel but realise I didn't really know what I was looking for, I have since seen this (9 second) video and wondered how to make it. Video is of a scroll wheel that changes numbers, when you press it it turns on a light and the counter counts down, when the counter reaches zero the word End appears, the light goes off and it beeps.

If I could I'd like to add the function of the timer stopping if the door is opened and the maximum number one can scroll is 15 (or 10 if easier).

As I explained before, I've never done anything like this before but I am willing to learn, if anyone knows of a video I could watch or a blog I could read I'd be grateful I didn't know what this was called to search. Just want to make something special for my son.

Really appreciate any help I can get.

Kindest regards

Full video (9 seconds):

Attachments

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
This would be a simple project for something like an Arduino. It could be one of the smaller ones, it doesn’t have a lot of requirements.

You can get 7-segment displays, rotary encoders (the knob), and piezo buzzers and libraries for all of it very easily.

Many people here could help with the specifics, but you should make a plan for what you actually want to build so you can have a BoM (Bill of Materials), schematics/wiring diagrams, and the program that will run it.

The first step is to write a “user story” that describes how it will operate from the user point of view, and then specifications (power source, maximum countdown time, whatever else you can think of). That plan will make building and getting help much easier, and it can often point out mutually exclusive demands and unexpected requirements even on a small project.

Good luck.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Thank you Yaakov,