How to wire an old Westinghouse Motor?

Tinman7

Joined Sep 6, 2017
Hello AAC forum-

I am new here and am a complete novice when it comes to circuitry(or motors). I can read an electric diagram to wire basic household projects but that's it. I'm sure that's what you guys love to hear ;) However, I love learning and like to think I pick things up pretty quick.
For my recent project I have acquired an old printing press. With it came an old Westinghouse 1/2 HP 1725RPM) motor (115 volts) Serial: q121823. The previous owner ran the motor off of a 2 prong plug with no ground. I would like to fix this. The motor is separate from the press and is an addition that most printers added to run the press via belt and flywheel to make printing much quicker. I want to revive this motor by adding the proper ground wire and wiring in an on/off switch at the press (Not at the motor. Motor sits behind the press under the flywheel).

I have attached some pictures of the motor and its current state. Any suggestions or immediate thoughts would be gladly appreciated. It looks like there are only 2 connections coming from the motor a Hi power and a Lo power wire (No common).

Thanks!

Attachments

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Would be nice if you had an ohm meter to measure between pins 1 & 4 and 1 to case and 4 to case but it looks like a pretty standard 1/2 HP 120 Volt 60 Hz. motor. To run a ground and since the motor draws upwards of 10 Amps I would get some good quality AWG 12 or AWG 14 power cord from McMaster Carr Part Number 70355K36 or any home improvement store like Lowes or Home Depot where you can buy the power cord and a plug. The plug would be a standard NEMA 5-15P. The green (ground) wire in the power cord would get screwed onto the motor chassis (frame) and the remaining power (Hot and Neutral) connect to pins 1 & 4 as it currently is connected. You can also get new spade lug connectors at any home improvement store or McMaster Carr Supply.

Ron

Tinman7