How to switch between two redundant power supplies

jabss

Joined Jan 12, 2015
Hello,

I'm trying to design a circuit with two power supplies for redundancy. Each one should supply both 12V and 5V.

I've decided that only one power supply should be ative at each moment, and that is controlled by a microcontroler.
Something like this:

teste.jpg

I initially considered that a pair of relays for each power supply in order to activate/deactivate each side, but that would need some transistors/mosfets to activate the relays so I thought it would be better to use a logical level mosfet (FQP30N06) at the first place.

However, it seems that with this kind of mosfet as a switch, what is switched is the path to ground rather than the 12v/5v lines.

Any suggestion on how to do it, maybe with a different device?

Thanks in advance,
Jabss

MagicMatt

Joined Sep 30, 2013
I'm no expert, but having used some badly designed systems with computer setups I can tell you that setup is a really bad one. The spikes etc. caused by the switch over when one fails would easily cause a computer system to crash. The good systems incorporate the equivalent of a battery backup (or super-capacitor) that kicks in and keeps the system running while the power supply is changed over, or run both supplies at once.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
What are the power supplies internally? It is oft the case you can just tie the outputs together; the supply with the slightly higher output does all (or most of) the work until it drops out.

The switchover can be dirty as the lower voltage supply will normally be shut down and needs to recover, but is certainly faster then a relay.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013