Want to switch between two power sources for car stereo (car battery and solar system)

DelGrowso

Joined Feb 6, 2024
I am building a camper van and have a pretty sweet solar system. I just installed a new stereo system (amp, 6 speakers, subwoofer, and head unit) and everything is working great through the car battery like a normal system. My goal is to be able to switch the power source from the car battery to the solar batteries but I am having trouble finding a switch that can power the amperage being put out.

The amplifier I am using is fused at 80 amps and the highest amperage switch I have been able to find is rated at 50 amps. I have read some things about using a relay but I am a noob and none of it is making sense to me.

Was hoping I could find someone with some experience doing this. Really want to be able to bump tunes while the vehicle is off and parked in a cool place. I installed two speakers in the back doors so I could open them outward and play tunes for a group!

Any help is greatly appreciated!

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Why change over at all??? If the solar panel is connected to charge the batteries, and the sun is bright, then the system will be using the solar generated power anyway. Also, the battery supply probabkly has a lower supply impedance and will be the better choice for powering the system.

DelGrowso

Joined Feb 6, 2024
Why change over at all??? If the solar panel is connected to charge the batteries, and the sun is bright, then the system will be using the solar generated power anyway. Also, the battery supply probabkly has a lower supply impedance and will be the better choice for powering the system.