How to setup a rfid reader to switch a relay to constant on

Oneofmany78

Joined Oct 6, 2018
Hello, complete novice here. I am a custom home builder by trade. We leave our tools at the job sites from time to time. I am constantly finding that my power tools are being used while I am on other sites or on errands. I had a thought that since I have a nfc ring, maybe I could hook up a reader (internally) that would allow me to use my tools as long as the ring is present. I have dug through the internet & can find a way to trigger a switch on or off. But I believe the constant presence of the ring would cause problems. Is there a way to setup a pn532 v3 to switch a relay to on only while the ring is present?

On a very brief look at the website (which you should link to help us give answers), that pn532 v3 looks like just a reader chip. you'll need something to process that data coming in from the NFC bit and flip a relay. Circuit is totally doable, find any microcontroller you like and write a bit of code to read the data (supplied in i2c or spi) by that pn532, and then write out a logic 1 to a driver transistor that will drive the relay.

With that said, as a complete novice, this will be a difficult project to tackle, especially getting the form factor down enough to fit into whatever power tool you have (what is it?). Perhaps when I have more time, i'll make a video about something like this.

Two other ideas:

RFID NFC needs to be too close to work. Although, I see what you want to so. Swipe a card over the tool. With RFID, the tool just needs to be close by. Sort of like the new start/stop button on a car and the keyfob in your pocket.

The bigger problem is placing the extra circuit in the tool and having a space for the antenna.

RGID can be passive or active (EZPASS).

Put a box on the power cord that has a keyswitch and use tamperproof screws or one way ones. Hopefully, they won't cut the cord or open the box. Downfall-- takes up more room in the tool box.