How to process a funky signal.

dandy1

Joined Sep 30, 2017
This is a signal from the primary side of a magneto style ignition coil, it is clear that there is a positive spike followed by a negative followed by another positive spike.

IMG_20230811_202945.jpg

Why this is so I have no idea. Vmax is consistent at 15v. It is apparent tho that the negative spike has greater (if not consistent) amplitude...

IMG_20230811_202144.jpg

Albeit the scope is cheap - there is some consistency - I have some inkling that there should be a 200v spike every cycle - just to give the secondary a chance of producing a spark. I am new to oscilliscopes so please advise any tips.

What circuit could i implement to read this signal with a mcu(atmega328pb)? Will the negative spike cause a problem in doing so?

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
it is clear that there is a positive spike followed by a negative followed by another positive spike.

Why this is so I have no idea.
Because that's what the output looks like from a magnet being moved quickly across a coil. As the magnet approaches the center of coil it is generating a positive voltage and after passing center it generates a negative voltage.

It is apparent tho that the negative spike has greater (if not consistent) amplitude...
Maybe there is a diode or distributor elsewhere, something that is directing the positive pulse into a load (spark plug) and not the negative one; negative being more voltage because it is unloaded.

What circuit could i implement to read this signal with a mcu(atmega328pb)? Will the negative spike cause a problem in doing so?
I would use an optocoupler with a series diode to block the negative spike and a resistor divider to decrease the voltage seen by the opto.

EDIT: I just re-read, noticed you are talking about the second positive spike each rev. Yeah I don't know about that.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
What is the bandwidth of your scope?