How to Add Connection Points in KICAD

bwilliams60

Joined Nov 18, 2012
Hey All, Hope everyone is safe and healthy.
I am designing a very simple connection board where I would like to take two 17 pin ICs and run wires from it to another board. I would like to know how to add the connection points to my schematic in Kicad. I am new to this program and have googled it but haven't found anything. So I am imagining there will be 17 holes for each IC and they will be plated vias, is that correct? I would then run traces from the connection points to the pads for my ICs. Fairly simple. Just need Kicad information. Any takers?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If in fact you are running connections to a separate board surely you would need a connector of some kind, even if using soldered conductors you would use a suitably populated connector symbol for either one.
The final footprint would be specified when assigning components to modules at board layout time.
Max.

hrs

Joined Jun 13, 2014
On the right hand side of the screen left-click the "Place symbol" icon. It looks like an opamp. Your cursor should change to a pen. Left-click the schematic anywhere. You'll get the "Choose symbol" dialog. At the top of this dialog type "con" in the search filter. You now have loads of connectors to choose from. One of them is "Conn_01x17_male". Double-click the one you want or select and click ok. You can now place it on your schematic. This is assuming you have default symbol libraries installed.

Attachments

bwilliams60

Joined Nov 18, 2012
Thank you for your replies. I understand how to add a connector. I was hoping to use just simple vias as my connection points as I wanted to stay away from connectors on this particular project. The space is small that I a working in and simply feeding the wires to the board and soldering them would make it easier in this case.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
I was hoping to use just simple vias as my connection points