How do I make an Equipment ground

binksterbinks

Joined Aug 14, 2022
I am building the Elenco AM/FM radio kit. And for a static power test it is telling me to connect my equipment ground to circuit ground test point 15 while the circuit is being powered by a 9volt battery. . I’m just pretty confused on what it means by “equipment ground” and what I can do to satisfy this. I have a DC power supply unit that has a ground terminal can I use that? I am a beginner and have very little knowledge so explain it like you’re explaining it to a five-year-old please. Thank you for your time and help!image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi bb,
Welcome to AAC
what it means by “equipment ground”

Any external equipment you are using to test the unit, eg: sine wave generator. Meter, Scope etc,,
E

Update:
This may help explain.

EG57_ 16.pngEG57_ 17.png

Last edited:

SamR

Joined Mar 19, 2019
PSU's usually have 3 output terminals. The + & - are relative. The GND is tied to the 3rd pin of the wall plug (US) which is tied to earth ground at the distribution panel.

And Welcome to AAC!

binksterbinks

Joined Aug 14, 2022
hi bb,
Welcome to AAC
what it means by “equipment ground”

Any external equipment you are using to test the unit, eg: sine wave generator. Meter, Scope etc,,
E

Update:
This may help explain.

View attachment 273826View attachment 273827
Thank you for the reply and the welcome! The image in figure 6 shows me using both my meter test leads onto the circuit so how would I also have a test lead going to TP15? I feel like I’m really overthinking this and it’s driving me crazy

binksterbinks

Joined Aug 14, 2022
PSU's usually have 3 output terminals. The + & - are relative. The GND is tied to the 3rd pin of the wall plug (US) which is tied to earth ground at the distribution panel.

And Welcome to AAC!
Thank you for the welcome! Does that mean the PSU GND terminal can be used as a earth ground point?

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018