Homemade 555 buck converter only works with a certain supply

Tyler Simmons

Joined Mar 30, 2019
Hi. I have a problem with my buck converter that I made using tutorials and schematics online to help. I have used several different voltage supplies to test the circuit but only one of them works. It is a 12v supply that works and I have tried other 12v supplies but they do not work properly! The output voltage is fully adjustable from 1.8v to 12v while using the one 12v input, but for all other voltage supplies I use the output voltage is either not adjustable or only adjustable between about 2v range.
Here is a schematic of my circuit.
http://tinyurl.com/y6n9m687

I am not an engineer or fluent with circuits, I am just playing with electronics at home. This is my first time asking a question about my circuits. I'm sorry if I have omitted any needed information.

Tyler Simmons

Joined Mar 30, 2019
You did.
Can't really help without knowing the characteristics of the supply that works and those that don't, particularly maximum current rating.
the one that works is 12v 0.75A output. It a lower current rating than any of the other voltage supplies i have used.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Monitor the output current of the various supplies when the circuit is operating to see how they might vary.
Why type of supplies are these?

Tyler Simmons

Joined Mar 30, 2019
Some of the supplies are wall warts some are transformers rectified to dc and also a dc supply made from an xbox power supply. I did find another one that works, but I have to change the resistor values and potentiometer that I use on the 555 circuit. I feel like I am missing or not understanding something. I am under the impression that I can make a "universal" buck converter for a given range of input voltages.

Tyler Simmons

Joined Mar 30, 2019
All but one of the supplies can hold their max current, and the current drops when the voltage drops like it should right?