Help with Sourcing Right Relay - Remote Control Via Low Voltage of Higher Voltage/Amp Load

JHMarshIII

Joined Oct 27, 2023
Hiya, newbie here. My use case is to build a switch to remotely controls three, 30 amp, 240VAC circuits and one 15 amp 120VAC circuit. I've identified an IP based controller (uSwitch), which uses 12VDC to power two relays.

But I'm having trouble identifying the four relays I would need. Do I choose solid state or electromechanical? Also, the high voltage side has 10 gauge wire the load side of the relay would need sit in between. Additionally, my project box enclosure would need to support high voltage.

The controller (uSwitch) has two 12 VDC relays. I envision using the first relay to control the three 240VAC, 30 amp relays, and the second to control the 120VAC 15 amp relay. So far I've only been able to find 24vdc to 240vac (40amp) relays. I'm having trouble visualizing if the relay can support 10 gauge wire.

The loads I'm trying to control are three individual electrical resistance coils in an electrical heating furnace and one fan and logic board circuit. The unit has it's own 200 amp service panel and four breakers. This relay box would sit between the four circuit breakers and the electric furnace.

Can anyone suggest the best relay for this project and where I can source it? Thanks much.

eetech00

Joined Jun 8, 2013
1. The 3 external relays should be power relays and each have 12vdc coils with contacts rated at the minimum current of 30A@240VAC.
2. The 1 external relay should also be a power relay and have a 12vdc coil with contacts rated at the minimum current of 15A@120VAC. This relay could be the same type as above.

The coils would be driven by the same 12VDC power source as the uSwitch device and would be controlled/wired via the uSwitch internal relay contacts.

The external relays should all be UL certified for safety. All related wiring should follow electrical standards.