Help with building a Circuit

bart796

Joined Aug 12, 2014
I am trying to build a low voltage circuit for a 12 volt battery. I have seen many but none do what exactly i want or i have not seen one that does through searching so maybe someone can point me in the right direction if one exists. The circuit i want should blink an LED strip at 11.1 volts. Thats the main idea i have. The second would be that at 11.1 it blinks every few seconds and then at say 10.5 it blinks rapidly. I have seen a few circuits that will turn an led on but my problem is the LEDS are always on in this particular project so that circuit is useless but maybe somehow could help me with a way to make it blink by perhaps turning a switch off and on at 11.1 or something. Thanks in advance and yes i did search before posting but i was unable to locate a specific circuit and yes i am a newbie at circuits but i am very good with electronics and have tons of experience soldering so building it will be zero problem i just need the wisdom on how to accomplish it! thanks!

bart796

Joined Aug 12, 2014
Ok i have looked up the first part of what you said and came back with part number LM393. I am a total newb at circuits so I am not sure what to do with that but it is a starting point and i'll take to google and see if i can string some ideas together as to how this idea you have given would work! Maybe i can figure it out..probably not but ill give it a whirl!

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Could you use a simple circuit that would normally just turn on a simple LED when the battery voltage drops where the simple LED is replaced with a self-blinking one like this?

Here is my favorite "turn on a LED when the voltage drops below x Volts" circuit. It is simple, and has a low parts count. Note the use of the TL431 precision voltage reference chip.