Help with Alarm PIR circuit

acronce

Joined Aug 20, 2021
Experienced software developer but electrical engineering noob here...

I'm interested in replacing a custom automation system from a company that went out of business a long time ago. Part of what I need to do is replace the alarm component that was used to detect wired alarm PIR and door/window opening sensors.

My plan for now is to wire these up to ESP32's, largely the same as an Indestructibles article I found online (but with differences, like lack of a traditional alarm panel and many more inputs). Before wiring up the ESP modules I figured I'd breadboard the detection circuit first with a simple LED indicator.

Once this works, I'll swap out the LED for a 3.3v pull up configured input on the ESP32. Although it might be nice to leave an LED on the board as a display of current activity, so I may try to design that in.

The circuit uses an LM339 (I'll need 4 of these for 16 channels eventually) and a voltage divider to catch when the PIR goes from its untriggered to triggered state.

I measured our existing 12v powered alarm sensors and the output lines go from around 5.9v at rest to 3.9v when triggered, so I picked a voltage divider value of 4.9v in the middle.

It doesn't make sense at this stage to test against the PIRs we have installed on our walls. Instead for the breadboard test I'm using a crappy spare PIR that I bought as a replacement but hated because it was so noisy (loud relay).

The test PIR's voltage characteristics are different with nearly 12v at rest and under a volt when triggered. Since the voltage divider reference of 4.9 should still work with this range, I left that alone.

The following was my first circuit attempt:

Screen Shot 2021-08-20 at 8.05.00 PM.png