help with a circuit to control a 5HP Motor

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Tellwisdom, Jan 1, 2017.

1. Tellwisdom

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 1, 2017
    Hello,
    i personally would want to appreciate everyone for the contributions,suggestions and advice here.
    i am stucked with an assignment which i have tried to figure out the solution but to no avail,several attempts searching over the internet proves abortive.
    just like the forum says: post your questions and attempts here before any help could be given if i understand correctly.
    Now,i was given an assignment to design a circuit to control a 5HP MOTOR which i don`t know where to begin from as i am new to electronics/electrical.
    any help would be appreciated,i am ready to learn to enable me succeed in this course.

best regards

2. AlbertHall

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 4, 2014
    You didn't find any motor speed control circuits using Google?
    I assume you are trying to control its speed not just switch it on and off, though you do not make that clear.
    Motor AC or DC? Voltage? Universal, induction, etc?

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Control can be anything from a simple contactor (on/off) to speed control, which as stated is motor dependent.
    What type are you interested in?
    Max.

4. Alec_t

Expert

Sep 17, 2013
    Welcome to AAC.
    Weren't you given some background material to study before being given this assignment? A 5HP motor is a dangerous beast to handle if you've no experience, so you should at least read up about the type of motor you have.

5. Tellwisdom

Jan 1, 2017
    thank you for the response,

What i am looking at here is a three phase AC motor,i have found some motor speed control circuits but i am not sure if it would control a motor of such capacity,that`s why i am here to be sure i don`t do the wrong thing

6. Tellwisdom

Jan 1, 2017
    Dear sir,
    i am interested in controlling a three phase AC Motor of that capacity....i mean 5HP