Help needed in debugging a circuit with JK flipflop

stragulus

Joined Feb 9, 2016
Hi,

This is my first post here! I'm software engineer with some light experience in electronic engineering, mostly self-taught.

I am attempting to repair an old ADM-3A serial terminal. I've already repaired two, but this one is a real struggle. Using a logic analyzer I have been able to find a problem involving a JK flipflop (74LS113): http://freedatasheets.com/downloads/74LS113.pdf

So this flipflop has a functioning clock on pin 13, SET (pin 10) is always high, J (pin 11) is always high, and only K (pin 12) toggles between high and low. K is low if the terminal does not receive input (from an UART). This is the LOAD(1) operating mode for the flipflop, e.g. Q (pin 9) will be 1 and /Q (pin 8) will be 0. Now, when the terminal receives input, K will go high. Now as soon as the clock goes down, it should execute the TOGGLE operating mode, thus flipping Q to 0 and /Q to 1. However, this does not work as intended: /Q does always go to 1, but Q will generally stick at 1. Sometimes (let's say 1 in 5..10 times) Q will *very* briefly pulse to 0 at the same time /Q flips to 1, although the pulse is much shorter. Even weirder, when the clock goes back up again, /Q will always flip back to 0 again. AFAIK they both should only toggle at the next time the clock goes down (negative edge trigger).

Let me demonstrate this with a picture. Here is a screenshot from the logic analyzer that demonstrates the behavior. In this screenshot, INPUT is input K (pin 12), DOIT is /Q (pin 8). I have also connected pin 10 (SET) and 11 (J) that are always high but they are not labeled here. Clearly you can see here how /Q (DOIT) bounces back when the clock goes up again (which it shouldn't), and also that Q (/DOIT) doesn't even flip.

Rusty 2016-01-24 05.png

Luckily I also have a Known Good ADM-3A terminal so I can also show what SHOULD happen:

Lusty 2016-01-24 03.png