Help in understand TRANSISTORS.

KansaiRobot

Joined Jan 15, 2010
Hello everybody and thanks always for your help.

This time I would like to ask a more general question related to transistors.
Say you have the following two schematics:

transistors1.png

1) What is the difference in functionality between the two? Assuming I want to control the Lamp, which of the two circuits is most recommended?? What are the pros and cons of each one...

I am not good at doing calculations so please tell me if the following are correct.
If V= 10V , Ic is 100mA and the β of Q1 and Q2 is 100

circuit 1:
Ib= 100mA/100 =1mA
R1=(10V-0.7V) /1mA = 9.3kΩ

circuit 2:

Ib= 100mA/100=1mA
I3= 10*Ib = 10mA
I2=Ib+I3=11mA
therefore
R3= 0.7V/10mA= 0.07kΩ=70Ω
R2=(10V-0.7V)/11mA= 0.845kΩ= 845Ω

Is R3 necessary to maintain stability or something??

Thanks in advance for your advice

KansaiRobot

Joined Jan 15, 2010
Go to check the hFE of any of bjt when it get into the saturation status.
OMG, now I am confused again. (this is more related to my other thread but...ok..)
If I check the hFE in saturation, then the 2N2222 which I thought rather adequate for my needs, fails too :( cause in the datasheet it says:

Collector Emitter Saturation Voltage
IC= 150mA, IB= 15mA
IC= 500mA, IB= 50m

so hFE is not written but can be calculate as Ic/Ib = 10!!!! and I need at least 18!

Now I dont know what to do... I thought I found an adequate transistor

---------
Related with the original question of this thread, any comment??

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
First you must distinguish two thinks.
1 - BJT working as a amplifier.
2 - BTJ working as a BJT a switch (in saturation). And in saturation region Ic = hfe*Ib do not hold any more.

For your circuit you need to work in saturation region. And both of your circuit will work if you properly select the resistor values.
And R3 (pull-down resistor) was add to ensure that BJT will be turn-off if you open the switch.

Last edited:

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009