Help! Cycle bike circut board medium transistor

Lucypotomus

Joined Jun 11, 2022
Hi all,

Super newbie here! I have been dabbling in electronics repair, circuit board repair, and coding for only a short time.

I recently bought a used Echelon connect Cycle bike that worked but only for a short time (not under warranty). I thought I could fix it no problem, did some troubleshooting, got a new motor, but still no. I turned my attention to the circuit board which is where I found the burnt medium transistor (first photo). The full identification on this bad boy is utcrltf 2sd882l.

I found a SD882 Trans NPN 30v 3A SOT32 from Digikey and ordered it. I took out the old transistor and soldered in the new one. Plugged everything back in and the transistor slowly started getting hot and I could smell it. I turned it off, there doesn't seem to be damage to the new transistor but I think if I left it on there would have been. I did hear the beep and saw the light that turns on on the bike console so some parts are working. I have more photos of my work with the new transistor, my only thought is maybe I should have cleaned the old burn spots better?

This is the extent of my knowledge, I have no idea how to troubleshoot past this point. Any ideas? Am I way out of my league here?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
This is the extent of my knowledge, I have no idea how to troubleshoot past this point. Any ideas? Am I way out of my league here?
If the original problem was a transistor that went bad, replacing it would fix the problem. If the real problem was something up- or downstream caused it to fail, then replacing the transistor wouldn't fix the problem.

Are you able to trace the circuitry around the transistor and create a schematic? Do you have a DVM?

You have too much solder on the transistor leads. If it isn't no lead solder, the joints are cold.

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019