Harmonics caused by SMPS in power factor correcting circuits

Nicholas Grant

Joined Sep 18, 2016
Hello,

I am a graduate student in EE currently going through a power electronics class. My focus as an undergrad has been chip design, so not much in the way of power until now.

My question is in the use of SMPS (like buck, boost, etc) to correct power factor.
If I were to describe power factor correction in a nut shell, it is to ensure both the voltage and current wave forms are as close to a sinusoid as possible, and in phase as much as possible. I understand the issues in power factor brought about by bridge rectifiers, and the regulations put in place to limit harmonics in the grid, but obviously the switching adds harmonics right??

This is really my confusion. The SMPS's are added to get a 50/60 Hz waveform to resemble their fundamental sine waves, but a SMPS is switching at, say, 10kHz. If I did an FFT on the output current, wouldn't I see a spike at the switching frequency, plus all of its harmonics? If so, does nobody care about it?

It seems all of the searching on this question always comes back to the PFC in regards to the grid frequency. However, I am more interested in the harmonics injected into DC systems from DC/DC converters. Aren't these high frequencies harmful to other components on the bus as well?

Thanks for the help!

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
PFC refers to the input waveforms. The simplest PFC I have come across is a large - approx 2" cube - iron cored inductor in series with the mains input.