HALL Sensor interfacing OpAmp strange Behavior

abodini

Joined Apr 3, 2018
Hi everyone,
my name is Andrea, and I'm an electronic engineer.

I'm trying to develop a Hall Effect sensor interface, to a 0-24V digital electronic device.
I'm using two different Hall Sensors: AH175 and a TLE4935.
The sensor setup is more or less the same, the one with the AH175 has a series resistance on the Output, the TLE hasn't.
903040 - Copia.png
I designed an Opamp circuit which brings this square wave with an amplitude of 0-10V, to a signal 0-24V.
This signal, once converted to the 24V, goes into a different line, which is 0-5 V, through a optocoupler.

ch1_Hall.png

When I link the AH sensor, everything works fine, but, when I connect the TLE sensor I see a strange behavior on the OpAmp output:
WhatsApp Image 2018-05-24 at 11.09.47.jpeg

Can you please help me?!
I don't know how it behaves this way.

Thank you very much!

Andrea

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

What is the voltage on pin3 of the opamp?
It shows a ground symbol, but there is a text "+Vref motor".
This is confusing.

Bertus

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
You are using OpAmp as comparator, and violating its input common mode range
of the + and - inputs.

The CM range allowed, on a +/- 15V supply is ~ Vpossupply - 4 >= Vin >= Vnegsupply + 4

You would be better off with a comparator, RRIO, and with hysteresis.

Regards, Dana.

abodini

Joined Apr 3, 2018
You are using OpAmp as comparator, and violating its input common mode range
of the + and - inputs.

The CM range allowed, on a +/- 15V supply is ~ Vpossupply - 4 >= Vin >= Vnegsupply + 4

You would be better off with a comparator, RRIO, and with hysteresis.

Regards, Dana.
Thank you for the answer. I’m using it with a single supply of +24V. But how it works with a sensor and with the other it doesn’t?! I cannot understand it :(

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015