Hall Effect Sensor circuit recommendations.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Derek Emerson, Dec 29, 2017.

1. Derek Emerson

Thread Starter Member

Mar 16, 2016
    Hi all

I'm new to electronics and even newer to hall effect sensors.

I am trying to build a circuit that uses a hall effect sensor to detect a magnetic field. I'll give an example of the desired outcome, it's kind of a "Which Hand" effect i.e. I have the sensor hidden in my hand and another person holds a small magnetised object, they put their hands behind their back and place the object in either hand then bring their hands out in front, I am then able to detect which hand the object is in simply by holding the hidden sensor close to either hand, the sensor will activate a small vibration motor to indicate a magnetic field.

Are there any components that I should consider using with the sensor? in a similar way that LED's should be used with a resistor.

I also need a way of increasing the sensing range if it is at all possible.

Any help anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Nelix

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

The attached book might interest you.

Bertus

MrChips likes this.
  3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Sounds like a clever idea. I'm guessing that the magnetic presence will be too weak for the Hall Effect sensor to detect at that distance of separation.

4. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I use the Honeywell SS400 series, they include three basic types or modes of operation.
    Max.

ebeowulf17 likes this.
  5. Derek Emerson

Thread Starter Member

Mar 16, 2016
    I'm reading it now, not understanding all of it but I'm reading it non the less :) thanks.

I had thought about this and was hoping there might be a way to increase the sensitivity of the sensor or use some kind of amplifier in the circuit.