Ground misunderstanding

Toddstar71

Joined Apr 23, 2015
Hi everyone - I'm new to electronics and I cant understand for the life of me how electrical ground works in a circuit. I'm learning about vacuum tubes. I understand that the cathode boils off electrodes to the plate. Got it. But when I see a schematic it shows a resistor or a capacitor connected to ground completely in the opposite direction of how the current flows from cathode to plate. Maybe I can't understand circuits. If current flows from ground through the cap or resistor how can it "get" to the cathode? Its very confusing. Any help is appreciated!

TS

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
A diagram of what you are talking about would be very helpful in keeping the discussion on the same page.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Show an example!
Also the flow from cathode to anode is the electron flow, but the flow is usually refered to in the opposite direction called the conventional flow. Due to a historical mistake.
Max.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
First, all those ground symbols are connected together. Second, the cathode doesn't make electrons. The cathode gets the electrons from the ground symbol and allows them to be sucked up through the tube to the other (positive) end of the power supply voltage.

Does that cover the first misconception?

The electrons get from the cathode resistor to the cathode through a wire.

Toddstar71

Joined Apr 23, 2015
First, all those ground symbols are connected together. Second, the cathode doesn't make electrons. The cathode gets the electrons from the ground symbol and allows them to be sucked up through the tube to the other (positive) end of the power supply voltage.

Does that cover the first misconception?
It does, yes. At the beginning, where the input transformer is, the .05/600 cap from ground. How does that "affect" the power from the wall to the transformer?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013