Generating a 15GHz digital signal.

pommeverte

Joined Apr 8, 2023
Hey everyone,

I'm looking to generate a ~500MHz -15GHz digital signal. It really just needs to be alternating HIGHs and LOWs. I don't need any control over the signal itself as I'll only be using it to measure insertion/return loss in a system. But I will need to be able to scale it at will between 500MHz and 15GHz

What's the best way of accomplishing this? The lower end of the spectrum isn't looking challenging. But up in the 15GHz range, my options seem very limited. Do any of you have suggestions? I am willing to settle with a max of 10GHz if that makes things any easier.

Thanks!

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
I'm no expert, but I don't think anything that actually works reliably and accurately at those frequencies is going to be ... economical. What's your ultimate goal? You're looking for 15GHz but will settle for 10. It sounds like your project might be missing a specification. Specs can help you figure out exactly what you need, so perhaps in this case it's worth the time to put together a spec.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
I'm looking to generate a ~500MHz -15GHz digital signal.
Getting a digital signal at that frequency is quite difficult.
It you are measuring return loss, then I don't see why the signal would be digital.

Likely you best bet for generating that frequency range is to look for a commercial signal generator, but it may be a challenge to find one you can afford unless you have deep pockets.
If this is short term, you might consider renting one.;

michael8

Joined Jan 11, 2015
I'm looking to generate a ~500MHz -15GHz digital signal. It really just needs to be alternating HIGHs and LOWs. I don't need any control over the signal itself as I'll only be using it to measure insertion/return loss in a system.

How does that work? I'd think that a square wave digital signal would have lots of 3rd harmonics (and higher) so