HI!
I am new to electronics .planning to do fm bug for college project

can someone explain this circuit in detail

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
These simple bugs fall into the category of "trickier than it seems"

The way the frequency is modulated is not straightforward, if fact, this produces a carrier that is both AM and FM modulated at the same time.
The audio signal voltages alter the junction capacitances in the transistor, changing both the amplitude and frequency.

Dinesh_2k4

Joined Aug 18, 2022
These simple bugs fall into the category of "trickier than it seems"

The way the frequency is modulated is not straightforward, if fact, this produces a carrier that is both AM and FM modulated at the same time.
The audio signal voltages alter the junction capacitances in the transistor, changing both the amplitude and frequency.
My main doubt here is:
just a 9V power supply and a LC tank will be able to generate a carrier , but what role does the 10pF that connects b/w Emitter and Collector play in FM modulation and signal generation?
Is it still a colpit oscillator?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
My main doubt here is:
just a 9V power supply and a LC tank will be able to generate a carrier , but what role does the 10pF that connects b/w Emitter and Collector play in FM modulation and signal generation?
Is it still a colpit oscillator?
Are you the same person who started this thread?

Dinesh_2k4

Joined Aug 18, 2022
If you had already started your on thread on this subject, why did you even bother to reply here?
It gave the impression that you and the TS were the same person.
I admit but Not exactly the same person!!
I asked my friend to do it, he is a team mate of mine for this project.Im not sure if its right as im new.
but I appologise, I really thought of closing the previous thread but Dont know how to do that....
coz its dumped with a lot of simulations

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
Hi 2k4,