Flywheel Diode Overheating

Matt H

Joined May 2, 2017
Hello, I'm a first time poster that has been lurking here for a while. I'm a mechanical engineer that has been finding himself doing more and more electrical work and embedded programming over the last year or two. I have hit a roadblock on one of my projects and am hoping that someone can help me better understand what is happening.

Some of our previous engineers were notorious for cutting corners, making unsafe circuits, and leaving little to no documentation on projects. I am currently trying to revise one of the boards that they worked on in the past. I have managed to fix the pots for the amplifier and AtoD circuits, have removed the excess capacitors from the rectifier circuit (because why wouldn't you store more than 5x what you need?), and have added optical isolation between the AC and DC signals (for some reason, they thought tying the DC common into the AC neutral with caps storing over 2000uF was a good idea), but am stuck on the main driver circuit.

I am trying to drive a fairly large electromagnet (half transformer) that moves a vibratory assembly (the electromagnet has springs opposing it to reset the assembly's position). The vibration is controlled from an IC that receives feedback from an accelerometer. Prior to working on this project, the electromagnet was driven by an IRS21864 chip with four schottky diodes and two IGBTs (~$70 worth of components for a simple on-off action that doesn't require polarity switching). After adding in the optical isolator, I have been trying to drive the circuit using a single N-channel Mosfet and a flywheel diode.